Alistair Brownlee elected to the Athletes’ Commission of the European Olympic Committee



Two-time Olympic champion Alistair Brownlee is appointed a newly elected member of the Athletes’ Commission of the European Olympic Committee (EOC).

Two-time Olympic champion Alistair Brownlee, MBE, was elected to the European Olympic Committees (EOC) Athletes ‘Commission at the 6th European Athletes’ Assembly in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

Brownlee was successful in securing one of six positions for summer sports athletes and is adding an additional British presence to the EOCs following the recent election of FOB Vice President Annamarie Phelps to the EOC Executive Committee.

Established in 2001, the EOC Athletes’ Commission is responsible for ensuring that the “voice of the athlete” is a fundamental part of decision-making processes within EOCs.

Through his appointment to the EOC Athletes ‘Commission, Brownlee will also join the British Olympic Association (BOA) Athletes’ Commission.

Brownlee said: ““ I am honored to be elected to the EOC Athletes’ Commission. I would like to thank the Athletes ‘Commissions of Europe for their trust in me and the BOA Athletes’ Commission for their support. I look forward to working hard to represent European Olympic athletes.

BOA PresidentSir Hugh Robertson welcomed the news saying: “Alastair will bring the same commitment and excellence to his role on the EOC Athletes’ Commission that he has brought to his athletic career. She is an exceptional person and I am delighted that such a strong, informed and thoughtful voice is joining the EOCs in representing the athletes.

Chairman of the BOA Athletes’ Commission, Ben Hawes said, “Congratulations to Alistair on his appointment to the EOC Athletes’ Commission. As a two-time Olympic champion, Alistair has made a huge contribution to the GB team and the Olympic movement and I have no doubts that he will be an outstanding representative for the EOCs ensuring that the voices of athletes from all over Europe are heard and recognized.

The EOC Athletes’ Commission is made up of 10 members; six summer sports athletes who competed in previous Summer Olympics and two winter sports athletes who participated in previous Winter Olympics. The Executive Committee reserves the right to nominate two athletes to the commission.

New members include:


Mrs Gwladys EPANGUE (France) – Taekwondo

Ms Blanka VLASIC (Croatia) – Athletics

Mr. Alistair BROWNLEE (Great Britain) – Triathlon

Ms Alexandra LONGOVA (Slovakia) – Archery

Mr. Gerd KANTER (Estonia) – Athletics

Mr. Pavlos KAGIALOS (Greece) – Sailing


Mr. Jonathan GUERREIRO (Russia) – Figure skating

Mr. Viktor KNOCH (Hungary) – Short track



About Author

Comments are closed.