Obaidullah Khan Heritage Cup hockey tournament starts tomorrow after 6 years, 12 teams will participate


Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh): One of India’s oldest hockey tournaments, the Obaidullah Khan Heritage Cup is due to start from Monday in the state capital after a six-year hiatus. The tournament was first launched as the Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup in 1931 and was last played in 2016.

The sports and youth welfare department has decided to bring the esteemed trophy back into Madhya Pradesh’s hockey scenario after the Indian team’s historic bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics last year.

Madhya Pradesh midfielder Aishwary Pratap Singh Solanki has always been part of the winning team, motivating several young dribblers in the state.

The tournament will kick off at 11:30 a.m. Monday at the tournament venue, Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium in Tulsi Nagar district of Bhopal. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan will attend the event as the chief guest and Sports Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia will preside over the inaugural ceremony.

Indian Oil, Indian Railways, Punjab and Sind Bank, Army XI, MP Hockey Academy, CNG, GST and Central Excise Chennai, Punjab Police, Indian Navy, Army Green, Central Secretariat and Madhya Pradesh Hockey Association will participate in the tournament.

The Athletics Department has made arrangements for food, accommodation and transportation for the players participating in the tournament and their team officials.

Scindia said: “It gives me immense pleasure and satisfaction to be able to relaunch such an esteemed tournament in our national sport. Many players who lost a lot during covid19 will have a chance to bounce back with the tournament. This will give our nation new champion players.

The final chapter of the tournament played in 2016, which was played after a gap of five years, had Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited as the champion. Before that, Air India was crowned champion in 2011.

Prize money:

Winner: Rs 11 lakh

Finalist: Rs 7 lakh

2nd runner-up: Rs 3,000,000

3rd runner-up: Rs 1.5 lakh

Individual prices:

Player of the match (league): Rs 5,000

Player of the match (semi-finals, final, hard line): Rs 10,000

Player of the Tournament: Rs 10,000

Best Goalkeeper: Rs 10,000

Best deep defender: Rs 10,000

Best midfielder: Rs 10,000

Best striker: Rs 10,000

Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy Team:

Hemant Dhanraj Singh (Goalkeeper), Aman Khan (Goalkeeper), Telam Priyabarta, Saurabh Pasine, Kashif Khan, Sundaram Singh Rajawat, Anil, Saddam Ahmed, Luv Kumar Kanojia (Captain), Konan Dad, Himanshu Sainik, Rajat, Deepak Sharma, Haider Ali, Shrey Dhupe, Ali Ahmed, Mudassar Qureshi, Thonaojamainglemba Luwang

(To receive our E-paper on WhatsApp daily, please click here. We allow the PDF of the paper to be shared on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Posted: Sunday, March 20, 2022, 4:32 PM IST


About Author

Comments are closed.