Zorn-Hudson will join the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame


Former Nebraska swimmer Trischa Zorn-Hudson has been inducted into the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame, Class of 2022, as announced by the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee. The Class of 2022 is made up of eight individuals, two teams, two legends, a coach and a special contributor who will be inducted tonight (June 24) in a ceremony at the US Olympic & Paralympic Museum in Colorado Springs.

Zorn-Hudson, a Paralympic swimmer who has won more Olympic medals than any other athlete in history, is joined by 2022 inductees Natalie Coughlin (University of California, Berkeley/swimming), Muffy Davis (para-alpine skiing and para-cycling ), Mia Hamm (University of North Carolina/soccer), David Kiley (para-alpine skiing, athletics and wheelchair basketball), Michelle Kwan (figure skating), Michael Phelps (swimming), Lindsey Vonn (alpine skiing), the 1976 Women’s Championship 4x100m Freestyle Relay Swimming Team, the 2002 Paralympic Sledge Hockey Team, Gretchen Fraser (University of Puget Sound/Alpine Skiing), Roger Kingdom (University of Pittsburgh/Athletics), Pat Summitt ( University of Tennessee/basketball coach) and Billie Jean King (special contributor).

The Class of 2022 has represented the United States as athletes at 27 Olympic and Paralympic Games combined, totaling 129 medals, including 86 gold medals. This is the 17th class inducted into the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame, bringing the total to 168 inductees (individuals and teams).

Zorn-Hudson, who represented the United States at seven Paralympic Games (1980, 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004), is the most decorated Paralympic athlete of all time. She won 55 Paralympic medals, including 41 gold, nine silver and five bronze, during her incredible career that spanned more than two decades. Over a 12-year period (1980-92), Zorn-Hudson was undefeated in every Paralympic race she entered, winning gold in 25 races. At the 1992 Paralympic Games in Barcelona, ​​Zorn-Hudson won 10 gold medals and a pair of silvers. At the 1988 Paralympic Games in Seoul, she won 10 gold medals in 10 events and set 10 world records. She was inducted into the International Paralympic Hall of Fame in 2012.

Born blind, Zorn-Hudson was a four-year letter winner in Nebraska from 1984 to 1987. She is credited with being the first physically disabled athlete to earn a full Division I athletic scholarship from the NCAA. While at Nebraska, Zorn-Hudson was a member of three Husker women’s swimming and diving teams that won Big Eight Conference titles (1985, 1986, 1987). In his second season in 1985, the Huskers finished ninth as a team at the 1985 NCAA Championships.

Zorn-Hudson recently returned to Lincoln to address all Nebraska student-athletes and staff at its annual Diversity and Inclusion Summit in February 2022.

National governing bodies, alumni, current athletes and other members of the Olympic and Paralympic community have been invited to nominate eligible athletes. From there, a nominating committee made up of people from the Olympic and Paralympic movements narrowed it down to a set of finalists. The Class of 2022 was determined through a voting process that included Olympians and Paralympians, members of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Family, and online voting open to fans; over 432,000 votes were cast across all platforms.

More information about the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame, including a complete list of inductees, is available online at TeamUSA.org/Hall-Of-Fame.

About the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame
The United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to celebrate the achievements of America’s top athletes in the modern Olympics and Paralympics. The first class of the United States Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame was inducted in 1983 at a ceremony in Chicago and included great names from the United States team such as Muhammad Ali, Bob Beamon, Peggy Fleming, Al Oerter , Jesse Owens, Wilma Rudolph, Mark Spitz, Jim Thorpe and the 1980 “Miracle on Ice” men’s hockey team.


About Author

Comments are closed.